Showing posts with label Send-a-Smile. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Send-a-Smile. Show all posts

Saturday, 18 July 2009

Office 2010 - Office Tools

Office Tools 2010


  • Digital Certificate for VBA Projects
  • Microsoft Clip Organiser
  • Microsoft Office Language Preferences
  • Microsoft Office Picture Manager
  • Microsoft Office Send-a-Smile
  • Microsoft Office Synchronisation Center


Digital Certificate for VBA Projects

“Microsoft® maintains a list of trusted third-party commercial certificate authorities to enable secure and usable e-commerce for Microsoft® Windows® users. These certificate authorities validate the identity and entitlement of an applicant, and as an output of this process, issue the applicant a digital certificate.

Digital certificates can be used to prove the identity of a remote person or resource, since not all certificate authorities follow the same operational practices. Microsoft uses an independent third-party audit (WebTrust for Certificate Authorities) along with other technical requirements to ensure our customers are have access to trustworthy CAs.

For information on Microsoft Root Certificate Program requirements, see the Microsoft TechNet Web site.”


Microsoft Office Language Preferences


Microsoft Clip Organiser


Microsoft Office Picture Manager


Microsoft Office Send-a-Smile


Microsoft Office Send-a-Frown


Feedback is always a great thing to have though I’m not sure where the Send-a-Smile & Send-a-Frown are leading. I mean imagine being assigned to the Send-a-Frown desk! I suppose our first ‘Frown’ to Microsoft will be; if MS-Paint and Word Pad (in Windows 7) can have Ribbons then why not the Clip Organiser and Picture Manager in Office 2010? As for sending a ‘Smile’ I think I’ll reserve judgment until I see the pricing of Office 2010.

Microsoft Office Synchronisation Center



Thanks to Gleanie for letting me use her photo.

Saturday, 27 June 2009

Office 2010 – Word V

Word 2010 - Part 5 Background Removal

Photoshop comes to Word

A new feature in Word 14 is Background Removal. To access it and its functions open the Insert Tab and either insert an image Insert>Picture or Insert>Screenshot and follow one of the options covered in Part 4.

This time I will use an image from file. When the image opens it will automatically load the Picture Tools Format Tab, select Background Removal.


The Background Removal tool will follow the main lines in the image and try to determine which the likely areas to remove or keep are. In this case it came close but not close enough.

The three options in Background Removal are:

  • Mark to Include
  • Mark to Remove
  • Delete Marks

Selecting 'Mark to Include' I've clicked and dragged four diagonal lines, one on each corner, to show I want to keep some of those areas. Then I tell it the areas to exclude with 'Marks to Remove'. You have to play around with it, adding some areas and removing others, until you're happy with the result.



Hit Return when you're happy with the result


Add a Picture Style>Compound Frame Black and a Picture Effect, Picture Effects>Reflection>Half Reflection 8 pt offset


Or, Picture Effects>Glow>Purple 18 pt glow, Accent colour 4


Thanks to Gleannie for letting me use her photo

Part 6 - Microsoft Office Exel 2010 (14).....



Friday, 26 June 2009

Office 2010 – Word IV

Blog from Word

I am just testing the automatic Blog post document option in Word 14. It took less than 20 seconds to set up.

Now let's see if it posts?

Apparently all I have to do is click Publish

Publish – Publish the post to the blog account so that other people can read it.

Well, I guess it tried. Acually it was uploaded to the Blogger site but was waiting as a draft.

The images were added later.





Next, Word continued...



Office 2010 – Word III

Word 2010 - Part 4 Insert/Screenshot

A really nice new feature of Word 14 is the Screenshot (screen capture) it is like having a Photoshop/photo editing program hidden inside Word. Screenshot is also included in PowerPoint 2010.

On the Insert Tab ‘click’ its icon to see a thumbnail preview of all windows showing on the desktop. Either select one or click Screen Clipping. Screen Clipping takes you to the desktop covered with a grey mask. Drag/Click the desired area, releasing the mouse automatically inserts the selection in the document.


Choosing one of the Available Screen Shots thumbnails from the dropdown is the real strength of the tool. It does everything for you. Click on the thumbnail and it inserts into the document opening the Picture Tools - Format Ribbon which is divided into:

  • Adjust
  • Picture Styles
  • Background Removal
  • Arrange
  • Size



Having inserted the image (in this case a yahoo messenger window) hovering the mouse over the various Picture Style effects shows a real-time preview in the document. In this case I’ve selected the Relaxed Perspective, white. I will cover Background Removal (a new and very cool feature) and Text Wrapping on another image (to follow...).



On the right of the Picture Styles section:

  • Picture Boarder – Specify the colour, width, and the line style for the outline of the selected shape.
  • Picture Effects – Apply a visual effect to the picture, such as a shadow, glow, reflection or 3d rotation.
  • Picture Layout – Convert to SmartArt Graphic.



Each option had its own dropdown menu with thumbnails and full preview in the document. In this case I’ve chosen Picture Effects>Glow>Orange, 18 pt glow, Accent colour 6. The effect can be customised, in this case Picture Effects>Glow>Glow Options:

  • Presets
  • Colour
  • Size
  • Transparency



The Adjust section of the ribbon consists of:

  • Corrections – Improve the Brightness, Contrast or Sharpness of the picture.
  • Color – Change the colour of the picture to improve quality or match document content.
  • Artistic Effects – Add artistic effects to the picture to make it look more like a sketch or painting.
  • Compress Picture – Compress pictures in the document to reduce its size.
  • Change Picture – Change to a different picture, preserving the formatting and size of the current picture.
  • Reset Picture - Discard all of the formatting changes you made to this picture.



Next, Word continued...



Microsoft Office 2010 - Word II

Word 2010 - Part 3 Save/Save As

Word 2010 also known as Word 14 (Microsoft decided to skip version 13 for ‘superstitious’ reasons jumping from 12 to 14) uses the default DOCX (Office Open XML) format. As with other versions of Word the default save can be set Options/Save/Save files in this format. Here is the full list of formats:

  • Word Document (*.docx)
  • Word Macro-Enabled Document (*.docm)
  • Word 97-2003 Document (*.doc)
  • Word Template (*.dotx)
  • Word Macro-Enabled Template (*.dotm)
  • Word 97-2003 Template (*.dot)
  • PDF (*.pdf)
  • XPS Document
  • Single File Web Page (*.mht, .mhtml)
  • Web Page (*.htm, .html) Web Page Filtered (*.htm, .html)
  • Rich Text Format (*.rtf)
  • Plain Text (*.txt)
  • Word XML Document (*.xml)
  • Word 2003 XML Document (*.xml)
  • OpenDocument Text (*.odt)
  • Works 6 - 9 Document (*.wps)
  • Works 6.0 - 9.0 (*.wps)

XML Paper Specification

Learn more here and download the viewer

The XML Paper Specification describes XPS documents and how they are organized internally and rendered externally. The XML Paper Specification builds on the Open Packaging Conventions. The XML Paper Specification is intended for producers who want to create document files in the XPS document format, and consumers who want to access, render, or process the contents of an XPS document.

An XPS document is a paginated set of related pages. The pages have a fixed layout, are organized into one or more fixed documents, and stored according to the Open Packaging Conventions. XPS documents support digital signatures and information rights management of the contents. XPS documents also support optional components that can group page contents together for easier streaming and provide information and control data that can be used when the document is printed.

Software that complies with version 1.0 of the XML Paper Specification will create documents that are compatible with Windows Vista. Version 1.0 of the XML Paper Specification is compatible with the latest working draft of the Open Packaging Conventions and the Open XML Markup Compatibility specification.

Next, Word continued...



Wednesday, 24 June 2009

Microsoft Office 2010 - Install

Office Professional 2010

Part 1 - Installation

When writing a review/guide of a product like Microsoft’s Office 2010 there has to be some kind of perspective into which it fits. There was a book I once read and used about Access 2003. After the usual preface, acknowledgements and the like there were a couple of boxes explaining some of the basics. One of them about the mouse and its functions! Apparently this was for those who needed a technical analysis of Access but hadn’t quite grasped the mouse pointer.

My problem was, and is, that if you need to learn the basics about using a mouse then you shouldn’t really be reading an advanced Access users guide unless you’re really bored. That in mind, this review/guide will cover anything and everything about Office 2100 whilst assuming a reasonable basic knowledge of previous versions. There won’t be many conventions (something regarded as a normative example) in this review. The emphasis will be on pain English explanations.

There isn’t much to say about the first installation apart from it was good to watch and concluded with an invitation to Send-a Smile.

More images...




More about Send-a-Smile later.



Word 2010



Next, Word 2010